One of Limerick’s most iconic industrial landmark buildings and its contribution to the social and economic history of the city is the subject of a month-long exhibition launched at The Hunt Museum last night.
‘Ranks – A Limerick Industry’ documents the stories, memories and contributions of former Ranks workers and their families and how a world-class milling operation on the Dock Road became synonymous with Limerick.
The Limerick Museum and Archives, in collaboration with the Hunt Museum and supported by The Heritage Council, is hosting the exhibition which tells the story of the working and social life of the Ranks workers through interpretative panels, photographs, documents and memorabilia.
The acquisition of the Limerick Mills by Ranks in 1930 was hugely controversial as Ranks was a British company. However, the company grew to the biggest or second biggest flour mill in the state during the Emergency. The mill gained further profitability during the 1960s but in the 1970s the company began to lose market share as Ireland’s accession to the EEC opened up the Irish flour market to cheap imports. Rank eventually closed in 1983.
The exhibition has received grant support from The Heritage Council, which this year is celebrating Ireland’s industrial history.
For more information please contact The Hunt Museum contact the Hunt Museum on +353 61 312833.